top of page

Rodan + Fields Experience

Welcome to Skincare Saturday!

With the weather already changing rapidly, I began revving up my typical skincare routine.

However, thanks to the generous samples sent to me by my local Rodan + Fields consultant I was able to try out three of their products to see if I would be making any changes to my routine!

First of all I want to let it be known that I have extremely sensitive skin, with many products either breaking me out, causing my skin to burn, or my allergies to start up. Both intensity and smell can make my face look like a lobster while simultaneously making me sneeze all day. I didn't have any issues with the packet that I was sent. Nothing felt so powerful or chemical-dense that I had any reason to believe that it would make my skin irritated. The smells are subtle, almost like what you find when you go to get a facial at a spa.

Before we get started, I would like to cover a few things that some people look for in a cosmetic company.

1) Rodan + Fields does not test their products on animals.

http://www.rodanandfields.com/rfconnection/index.php/2017/06/22/are-rodan-fields-products-tested-on-animals/

2) They are not considered a natural or organic cosmetic company. Their product ingredient list is linked in the second link below.

http://www.rodanandfields.com/rfconnection/index.php/2017/06/26/are-rodan-fields-products-natural-or-organic/

https://www.rodanandfields.com/Images/Archives/Ingredient_List_020813.pdf

3) All but three of their products are manufactured in the USA. Those can be found in the link below.

http://www.rodanandfields.com/rfconnection/index.php/2017/06/22/are-your-products-made-in-the-usa/

For all other questions please refer to this link:

http://www.rodanandfields.com/rfconnection/index.php/category/us/general-faqs-us/

With that being said I was ready to "Give it a Glow." I thought that packaging was very nice and simple, it wasn't gimmicky at all. It was clean, sleek, and straightforward which I appreciated. This sample set is from their anti-aging line, Redefine.

Step One

The first thing to do was to use the Daily Cleaning Mask. I am in love with clay masks at the moment so I was quite excited to find out about this Koalin Clay-based mask! The instructions were to simply wet my fingertips and massage about a quarter sized amount onto my skin. It was a bit of a textured cream, you could definitely tell that there was a small hint of grit to it that would be used to exfoliate. The smell was nice and subtle. I was instructed to let it dry for around two minutes and then to remove it with water. Within the two minutes I could feel my skin starting to tighten as the mask worked on my pores. The hint of grit that I mentioned early really worked as I took my cloth to remove the mask. Make sure that you really take the time to thoroughly clean off your skin after using.

Wow is really all I have to say about the outcome! My skin felt tighter for quite some time after using it and my skin was very smooth! There was no hard or sticky after effect and my sensitive skin appreciated it! I would recommend using a moisturizer after use, which is what I usually do anyway. I have found since clay draws a lot out it is wise to go ahead and moisturize after using it so you don't get too dry. There is enough in the packet to get two to three uses out of it, depending on which areas you want to cover.

Overall, two thumbs up!

Step Two

Step two is a two step process, with a Night Renewing Serum and a Lip Renewing Serum. They each came in these neat little capsules that hold the product. (Remember not a squeeze at the same time you are twisting off the cap if you happen to get this packet!)

The Night Renewing Serum is to be put on after cleansing and toning. You simply apply it to the face, avoiding the eyes. This product is supposed to reduce the appearance of wrinkles, tighten pores, and give you an overall glow. I found it easy to apply and it met all of my sensitive skin standards. I did find that there was a subtle glow to my skin after use. The texture was that of what I have found in a lot of primers with a silky, barely there feel. It glided onto my skin quite nicely and did not leave a sticky, goopy feel to the skin.

The Lip Renewing Serum was what I was really looking forward to after the mask. I have such dry lips and it has been difficult for me a find a product that works well. I opened the capsule and was apprehensive at the gel-like serum. I honestly haven't had much luck with them in the past but I was in for a treat! I applied it conservatively, as I didn't want my lips to turn into a slip and slide. My skin instantly drank it every bit of moisture it could and instantly looked a thousand times better! It stayed on nicely throughout the day, not drying too quickly. I did reapply at night and woke up to much better lips, enough that I felt like putting on lipstick that day without fear of cracking.

Step Three: Go Speak with a Consultant

Over the last couple of years I have learned how important skincare is. I have had this skin on my body since I was born and it will have to last me, hopefully, for several decades to come. No matter what stage in life you are at, you can start taking better care of your skin.

We all know that there are so many companies out there claiming to have the best products for your skin. Some are perfect for you and some are flops. But you will never know if you don't ask questions, get opinions, and try them out. I have been hesitant to try new products once I found ones that seemed to be working for me but I have kept an open mind that there may be something better out there for me.

After making this sample kit last as long as possible, I highly recommend that Daily Cleansing Mask and Lip Serum. They are what worked best for me and helped with issues that I was having at the moment.

At the least, get in contact with a consultant and let them guide you into what products would work best for you and your skin! It never hurts to ask!

I will add a link to the consultant that I have been in contact with for this below.

P.S.- I got the most adorable card in the mail with the sample kit. It truly made my day when I received it! Consultants with this company seem so positive and love what they do, but Carmen blew it out of the water with this cute, hand signed note. Thank you!

E-mail: carmenboso82@gmail.com

Rodan + Fields Home Site


bottom of page