top of page

Nicholas County Animal Shelter

I had the honor of visiting my local shelter so that I could try and capture the essence of each furry visitor calling the building home. I would be lying if I said that I didn't think about clearing the shelter out myself, stashing them all into the back of my car and taking them home. However, that would have led to time, money and space strains. As well as an accepting but tired husband!

I remember when I was younger not wanting to go to the shelter at all. My little soul just couldn't bear the thought of going in and leaving all of the furballs behind. They would see me, want to come home with me, and I would be abandoning them before I even got to call them mine!

Luckily, I have had some wonderful people in my life that have been able to educate me on the shelter process. I also learned the most valuable thing---Any little thing you do will help. If adoption is not an option there is still fostering, volunteering to walk them, volunteering to make their space clean, donating supplies, sharing posts to get their face and stories out there, talking to people about it...just don't stop trying to get attention to them!

Although I couldn't take the following faces home with me, you can. Or you can visit them, or bring them supplies, or simply share them to your page. All of the information on how to get to the shelter, contact information, and adoption fees are listed below. Take and look, make a call, take a drive, and go see these wonderful lovebugs!

The address to the shelter is:

229 Stadium Drive

Summersville, WV 26651

You can contact them by dialing

304-872-7877

or by clicking on their Facebook page at:

Adoption Fees:

Dogs- $20 adoption fee + $50 spay/neuter fee

Cats- $20 adoption fee + $25 spay/neuter fee

ALL SPAY/NEUTER FEES WILL BE REFUNDED WHEN THE ANIMAL HAS BEEN FIXED. THERE IS A CONTRACT THAT MUST BE SIGNED AT THE TIME OF ADOPTION AGREEING TO THE PROCEDURE. THERE IS A TIME LIMIT FOR THIS TO BE DONE AND FAILURE TO DO SO WILL CAUSE THE ACTION OF THE ANIMAL BEING RETURNED TO THE SHELTER.

Please do not be a surprised new grandparent, get your pets fixed folks!

Now that you have made it this far, enjoy the furbabies below!!!! (Some names I was not able to catch but you can contact the shelter for more information!

DOGS

TYSON

This goofy guy is around 8 months old and assumed to be a Boxer mix. He has a friendly personality and is always ready to party!

This brute of a goofball had me laughing as soon as I saw him. With an expressive face, he is full of energy and was ready to party!

This little lady had her nose to the grindstone, I mean ground, the second her paws hit the grass! She was very friendly in her quick hello before going off into the Land of Many Smells!

My goodness, this pup can go! From the minute he was let outside he tore up the ground and covered several circles before sticking his nose to the ground. He was extremely friend. This little was born in the shelter and would love to can somewhere home! Those ears though!

KATE

Just like her friend before her, this girl was all nose! She was also very friendly in our hellos before the wind blew, the smells changed, and there was something else to think about. This pretty Bluetick Coonhound is around four years old.

BRIGGS

Eyes are always what get me and did Briggs bring his A-game! The lab mix melted my heart the most the day of shoot! He is around a year and a half old and is as friendly as can be!

HIKER

"Here comes wigglebutt!" is what I said when I saw this handsome guy come out of the shelter. A self-appointed lapdog, this friendly guy had me laughing the entire portion of time I got to spend with him. This Boxer mix is around three years old.

OREO

This appropriately named fuzz ball is one photogenic lady! She seems to be a Spaniel/Boarder Collie mix and was extremely friendly the entire time we had with each other!

GABBY

This lady was a joy to photograph! She is a Beagle/Jack Russell Terrier mix that is around three years old. She was a ball of energy the day of the pictures!

Reminding me the most of my own dog, this girl was very friendly! She had a "just happy to be here" personality and gave a sloppy, wet kiss as a hello.

TEDDY

Quite the inquisitive one, this little guy was the first to meet me at the gate. He is around three years old and is a Chihuahua mix.

THE THREE MUSKETEERS

These three doggos were happy to simply watch as I walked by, taking a few moments to be captured on camera. For more info please contact the shelter.

Content to watch me in silence, this little one kept an eye on the camera. Curiosity eventually won out and it just had to see what it was all about.

CATS

This short, sweet, small girl is around five months old. She has not grown much in the last several months and is probably going to stay close to the same size that she is.

KITTENS

Unfortunately there were so many kittens that it was hard to keep up with all of there names. However, I was able to grab several sweet pictures of their curiosity of the camera. All were bopping around as most kitten do, some talking the entire time. Please contact the shelter for further details!


bottom of page