top of page

Gum's Hollow Apothecary Product Review

Who doesn't love a good face mask?

Who doesn't love a good shimmering body serum?

Who doesn't love supporting a woman-owned small business?

About a month ago I first introduced Gum's Hollow Apothecary to the blog. It was such a great experience learning about the business, the practices used, and how genuinely nice the owner is. I was beyond excited to grab a few goodies up from the market and see how they worked out.

The first item was the one I had my eye on since it was first revealed on the Instagram page. "Gold Dust Woman" is a herbal body serum that is packed with shimmer! The ingredient list includes: Apricot Oil, Calendula, Myrrh, Rosehips, Mica Powder, and Essential Oils.

My excitement for this product was clouded a bit by my past uses of items like it. I have found that they clog my pores and make my skin far too oily. I generally have dry skin so for something to make me oily, even after use, is troublesome.

I apply it on my cheekbones and shoulders. This serum quickly absorbs into my skin and leaves me with an overall glow and scent that lasts throughout my entire day. This is a feat within itself, as my skin is so fair that it is hard to give it a glow while making it look natural. It did absorb without overpowering my skin and making me look like a seal out of water. I can't wait to use it more this summer when the sun is really shining.

As with any shimmer serums, make sure that you shake it before each use. This product is available here!

The second item that I picked up was Earthing, a grounding clay and herbal face mask. The ingredients include Bentonite Clay, Activated Charcoal, Aloe Powder, Calendula and Chamomile. Honestly, I have steered clear of most charcoal masks or products because I find that they mainly smell like black licorice and I detest that scent. However, I was pleasantly surprised when I didn't smell it as I opened it at the market and again when I applied it to my face at home.

My husband has made so many clay bowls that I am always trying to come up with uses for them. My makeup brushes and products call a lot of them home. Knowing that I would have to mix the mask with water, I seized the opportunity to give another bowl a job to do and began mixing.

Using the suggested teaspoon of mask and a bit of water, I used my finger to mix it and apply it all over my T-zone. (Always make sure to use a small amount of water and build your way up. Too much makes for a mess!) About seven to ten minutes later I removed the mask with a wash cloth. It came off very easily, unlike some others I have used.

Overall, I love this mask! The ease of mix, application, and removal is superb. The mask left my skin feeling nice, soft, and smooth. There was no irritation afterwards, which is nice with my sensitive skin. No dryness appeared. My pores became smaller with use twice a week.

The two items that I picked up were both winners for me and my skin. As with all beauty products, some might work for one person while being no so great for others. Knowing the ingredients in your products and what they do can help you make educated decisions on how to spend your hard earned dollars. I believe the price of the products is completely reasonable from this business. Luckily, Gum's Hollow Apothecary lists all of their ingredients on their page so that you may do some research. New items are always coming to the website so you have plenty of chances to find something that will work for you. I can't wait to see what she comes up with next!


bottom of page