top of page

For Humble or Hopeful

For humble or hopeful, til death do us part. 

This was the motto that my husband and I used at our wedding last year. Those first four words have been our life motto for the last several years and it all stems from one company. 

I was introduced to Lokai almost three and a half years ago through an ad on a social media site. "Find your balance," was constantly popping up in my feed. I started reading and loved the fact that each bracelet had mud from The Dead Sea and water from Mount Everest- the highest and lowest point on Earth. The black "bead" containing mud from The Dead Sea, reminding us to stay hopeful at our lowest. The white "bead" containing water from Mount Everest, reminding us to stay humble when we are at our highest. And the entire bracelet, reminding us to find the balance in between. 

That particular time in my life was full of changes, some that made me full of indecision. Their whole message hit me just at the right time, in a lifechanging, grounding sort of way. One bracelet, one company, one motto has changed my life completely.

I have had some really high highs in the past several years. Graduating from high school, completing an entire horse show season and placing in every class we entered, adopting a doggo, starting and finishing college, new jobs, marriage, new friendships, and a new house. During all of these moments I have had people cheering me on, always there with a congratulatory text, phone call or hug.

I have had some lows as well. Anxiety about starting college and finishing it (because you need a minimum of five years of experience for an entry level position), losing my best friends, losing my dad, and coming to terms with adulting in general. But again, during all of these moments I have had people lifting me up, always there with a feel better text, phone call or hug.

Growing up my mom always said that I could be anything I wanted to be and do whatever I wanted to in this life. I've had family to reinforce that. I also just happened to luck into marrying my soulmate who is always up for long, two or three hour discussions when my dreams overtake reality.

Having these amazing people so early in my life has made me appreciate their support and also recognize the people that aren't truly there for me.

Growing up there was a quote that I fell in love with, "Your vibe attracts your tribe." I always thought it was a cute little saying but I am now understanding the truth to it. The truth is, not everyone that comes in and out of your life is going to care about you the way you think that they do or should. You will waste a lot of time sorting those people out. The truth of it is you will have ample opportunities in life to stay hopeful for someone to come in and be there during the times you can stay humble. And it is humbling to realize that some of those other people are the reason that you had to remain hopeful in the first place.

Being selective in who you hang out with or welcome into your life isn't being anti-social, it's called self-preservation and there's zero shame in that. 

We all take pieces of the people who are around us to make to a puzzle of ourselves. The trick is to find pieces that make a pretty picture when life is complete. Don't be afraid to say no, don't be afraid to avoid people who make you feel anything negative, don't be afraid to share with others who you are without them. Take time to work on yourself and then others along the way.

Be with the people that are just seconds away from lifting you up to the heavens...and pulling your back down to Earth when need be. 

Because in the end, we just want to be around people that keep us humble and hopeful.

If you are interested to dig deeper into the Lokai story or about their products simply click here.

As I  


bottom of page